Blogging For Health

Experience Optimum Health through “Lifestyle Changes”

Headache? Your body may be putting you on a water alert!

You are probably saying, well this is the craziest thing I have ever heard …but wait, read this article, and let me share an experience with you.

What I am about to share, has happened to me enough times, that I know it to be true in the case of my body. I have also read numerous reports about dehydration, and the body’s responses to the lack of water.

The other afternoon, I was working on several stressful projects when all of a sudden I developed this terrible headache, it was hurting down into my neck as well. I was feeling ill all over. But, knowing that sometimes this is a signal from my body that it is time for a nice glass of cool water, I decided to drink some water before taking any medication. So I stopped everything, drank a glass of nice cool water…and practiced being present. I remained still, in a light meditative state, and focused on my breathing. Well, within 10 to 15 minutes I felt fine…no more headache. Sometimes, I will experience my body’s cry for water as a pain in my leg, my face or just about any place on my body. Sometimes when my body is in need of hydration, my face will feel drawn or puffy.

I call water my miracle drug.

I have never been one to drink a lot of water. I am one of those individuals, who doesn’t feel thirsty as often as some of my peers. Oh, I know you are going to say…you have to drink 6 to 8, eight ounce glasses of water a day to keep your body hydrated. I am in agreement with that, for the most part, except that I personally know that is not the fact for yours truly. I eat a lot of fruits, enjoy my organic green tea with breakfast and a hot chocolate before bed. I drink water the first thing upon arising, in the morning. Then, I carry my Fuji water around with me during the day, and I take sips whether I feel thirsty or not. If I try to force myself to drink a lot of water, I do not feel well.

Of course, we all know that the body is made up of over 70% water, and our bodies need water for hydration and proper functioning of all bodily systems. Water helps us to enjoy a more beautiful complexion, nice hair, etc. When the body is properly hydrated it even deminishes many of the signs of aging (plumps up the skin) so long as we keep the body hydrated.

Check your ph balance often. You can check your saliva, or your urine to determine your ph level. You can puchase the kit at the drug store…just dip one of the strips in urine and follow the chart on the kit to determine the ph level. Checking your urine in the morning and evening is a good way to get an accurate reading. According to my research, if it is a nice clear, pale yellow color this is usually an indication that your body is properly hydrated. Strive for a ph level of from 7.5 to 7.1–and keep drinking that good water.

To your vibrant health!
Bobbi Henderson

May 28, 2009 - Posted by | 1, Tips For Natural Health | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Water is good, that’s why I see to it that it’s always ready everytime I need it.

    Comment by The Mind Relaxer | June 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank you for your input! You are exactly right. To your good health.

      Comment by Bobbi | July 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yeah, Bobbi, if you’re eating lots of greens and veggies your body IS getting plenty of water. That suggested 6-8 glasses of water a day all depends on many factors.

    I’ve also noticed that water requirements vary on your activity level and also the general conditioning of your body. Nutrition is not an exact science. There are general recommendations, but each body is unique. That’s why your intuitive awareness is essential. No cookie cutter food pyramid recommendations can truly tailor the specific needs of any one individual.

    Viva wellness coaching, where you get to awaken the body’s innate intelligence with your clients. Keep up the great work!

    Adela
    Self Care Coach

    Comment by Adela Rubio | July 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Adela

      Thank you for the very informative and encouraging post.
      I love to feel healthy and getting enough water is my main health challenge. I can almost always tell by looking at my skin whether I need to be drinking more water or not…I enjoy adding about a half of a lemon a day to my Figi water which my friends all kid me about and call it Fuji water…makes no difference I love it. When they are having sodas I get the water and they rib me about the price of water…gosh…it is interesting though I can remember when you could get a glass of water for free. Those days are gone.

      Comment by Bobbi | August 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

