Blogging For Health

Experience Optimum Health through “Lifestyle Changes”

Heal Yourself by Making Happiness a Priority

How important is happiness to you?  Most people that I have met considered happiness a top priority in their lives.  But, they could not define what happiness really meant to them and I include myself in this group.  When I was younger I used to equate happiness with whether or not I had a boyfriend. 

 I still run into old friends after many years who are still working on that  same goal…to be happy.  They have a lot of ailments, which are usually the topic of our conversations.  I leave the conversation feeling totally exhausted and little low.

A few years back  I read a book about happiness, defined and how we can experience it if and when we want.  Basicically, what the author was saying is simply this “Happiness is an inside job.”  I have learned over the years that this is quite accurate.  We can experience happiness in the morning, evening, lunch time or why not 24 hours a day?  We get to choose.

My answer to the question of happines….  is taken from an article that I wrote back in  2005 about a year after the death of a dear friend .  Whom, I was still grieving.  I was the lowest I had ever been in my life.  I could see my dear friend in everything I thought or did.  She had died suddenly from cancer and I could not let go of the anger and disappointment I felt about the timing and why her. I questioned everything that ever offered me comfort or security, including my religion.   I finally realized that nothing was going to change without my doing something.  I learned that one thing did not equal the other.  My friend was dead but I was not…. I could still be happy and go about enjoying my life,  even though I mourned her loss.  The results were: several physical ailments almost immediately went away.  They were created by my thinking about the situation and the stress this thinking created in my life manifested physical ailments.  So, it is pretty clear that feeling unhappy especially for any length of time is unhealthy….we need to do something to change the situation.

“We can achieve happiness by broadening our horizons and getting rid of our old beliefs about happiness.  Beliefs that told us what was good for us and how we should behave if we wanted others to like us, etc. ” See how disempowering this type of thinking is?  ZigZiglar calls it “Stinking Thinking.”  We need to open our hearts and minds to new thoughts and ideas…a new belief system.  It will take about 29 to 30 days to make the change.  That is how long it takes for most people to break an old habit.

Martin Luther King said ” Dare to dream and believe” This is key, dream big and believe in yourself and your dreams.  Move on forward in life…like you own the world.  Once you realize these things, I promise you that your world will never be the same.   Every thing in your world will begin to change. 

There is no magic to this.  The real magic is in you!  Simple fact is that what we think about  and believe in is what comes to us.  You can have your life going in the direction that you really desire.  It is a scientific fact that  energy follows thought…and we get to choose our thoughts.  Once you make the change in your thinking you will see your healing begin on both a mental and physical level.  Once we experience this, we become more understanding, suffer fewer painful situations and are able to look at life from a new perspective.    This new perspective on happiness will create  a new healing way of thinking which will change your life.  

Your new revelation will clearly show you that true happiness has nothing to do with the material things that you own or the people in your life.  It is about you.  Remember happiness is a inside job, so stand up and say to yourself….I want to do this…it feels right….so do it! 

I wish you true happiness!

Let me know your thoughts and feelings. Please feel free to ask me a specific question.  If I do not know the answer I will find it for you. 

March 26, 2008 - Posted by | Lifestyle Change | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. 🙂

    Good read! Thank you!

    Trackback by Happiness and more | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. I am a firm believer that happiness and a positive outlook affects health. Will all the health problems in our household over the past few years, from asthma to cancer, that outlook has sustained us and made us stronger.

    Comment by Robin | March 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. Very nice post 😉 Added to favourites.

    Comment by Liber Augest | April 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. Nice info.Added to favourites.

    Comment by Liber Augest | April 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

